[Poll] On Caveless Worlds

WE NEED TO GO DEEPER/INTO THE NETHER  

163 members have voted

1. 1. DO you play caveless (forest-only) worlds?

2. 2. If yes, why?

• I like the challenge ruinless worlds present.
    • My PC can't handle the specs and lags out a lot.
    • Others (do list in the comments!)
    • I answered No.
  3. 3. If no, why?

• The game just isn't complete without caves.
    • My PC can handle the specs.
    • Others (do list in the comments!)
    • I answered Yes.

I play with caves, but only so that I can make lanterns and refuel my miner hat more easily. I don't really care about doing much else down there other than grabbing light bulbs. If light bulbs were obtainable on the surface, I'd probably play without caves.

I'm not very good at spelunking but I like having it as an option. Being able to pop into the caves to take a shortcut across the overworld, grab lightbulbs, cower from the overwhelming heat of the merciless sun, or grab unharvested/unwithered resources is quite useful even if you're never down there long enough to see a depths worm. However, sometimes I generate a caveless world to make it run more smoothly for people with bad computers or bad connections, to take advantage of the code quirks that differ between a single-shard world and a multi-shard world, or because I want to test something from the surface world with the console and playing the game normally isn't important right now.

Whenever I join a pub as Wormwood, my goal is to create a massive seed farm ASAP. Caves are great for this, because carrots are plentiful in the bunnymen areas, and I can get even more from pseudo-wars in the villages.

Usually, I end up with around 60 carrots by day 5, which I then use a birdcage to get around 100 seeds for my first plantation.

So yeah, I kinda love the caves.