Return of Who, How, Why and from Where?

Basic question, we still get a big update called RoT. But who are we talking about and how they are coming, why they are coming and most importantly from where?
The only thing keep coming since update is strange creatures but all of them are old creatures (in lore) in world and new ones are "mutated" ones so that don't makes them a new creature that came from another place.

If you guys discussed this before you just can't leave link of thread and thread can be locked.

4 minutes ago, thegreatJash said:

Maxwell and Wortox

Yeah, also that make me wonder about Maxwell quote about merms. He said they was here before me but how? Who was the old owner of throne?

Before RoT, "Them" was just the way shadow creatures and other nightmarish entities were named by Maxwell, I'm not a lore expert but I've understood a few things and I'm just guessing "Them" also applies to the celestial side of the board, the "brightmares" and they're returning a bit more every update to complete this new "chapter" of the game, there's a war booming down in the caves after you power the archive and that's where we are right now. Now we need for "them" to return a bit more and see what happens... er, basically.

Edit : Btw maybe you'd like to take a look at this old theory I've made last year, some of the stuff here were wrong but it could leads you somewhere and understand a bit more what's happening between the two side of the game.

i love lore threads

what i think:

who: ancient god(s) of darkness (there is a possibility the moon is included on that plural)

how: by re-activating ancient stuff like the ancient gateway and the archives, charlie is triggering the darkness and the moon to fight eachother

why: i have no idea. wortox knows , but he dont tell anyone