So I started playing Shipwrecked and it amazed me how tropical and exciting this was compared to DST's oceans and that got me thinking. Now obviously Klei cant do the same thing they did with Shipwrecked, cuz its better to spend time making new ideas instead of copy paste. Klei also has more restricions, they have a larger community and less time whereas they had like 6 months to make Shipwrecked even then Im sure it took longer and they were partnering with another company. However, there is some changes I think is worth for the oceans.

First, AMBIENCE. The current oceans arent good in terms of ambience, and its emptiness can be helped with some nice new atmosphere. DS SW did this really nicely, with different mobs swimming throughout the ocean and tons of different things to find, the same isnt impossible here. Heres an example: 

maxresdefault.thumb.jpg.652a0be9f361878ad2e610d009c270ca.jpg

This is how a good ocean is. Its filled with exotic coral and fighting a cool enemy. The colouring is way more diverse and you can make out creatures swimming under it. Now heres DST's oceans.

Boat.png.d62784818e33ec01cff956c718cba74c.thumb.png.29ea83f6654c9e4103842790f5d859e2.png

The colour changes are less distinctive and theres barely anything. Now this is fine, the oceans are still in work, but... cmon.

So, first, it is ABSOLUTELY worth making shallow water and deep water distinctions. You can make new resources in specific areas and can make more ideas. I find the best designed oceans lets you see the distinction between water levels. Now the ocean colouring now should be the deep ocean colouring and a light blue version is the shallow water. Oceans should also have more brighter distinctions in the water.