Jump to content

Can we change the placement for the Regenerate World option?


Recommended Posts

Too many times have I seen people accidentally delete their worlds because they were trying to rollback. Would be cool if selecting Regenerate World gave you an additional choice where it’d ask you if you’re absolutely sure and wish to continue. Here is a picture of how the options are arranged for us on console, I don’t know if it’s the same for pc.

D83E82AD-B560-4970-A6F9-0676AC8D83D0.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

yes, it would be good if it asked for confirmation if you want to regenerate the same for when all players are dead and the world's ticking to reset too.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

55 minutes ago, . . . said:

yes, it would be good if it asked for confirmation if you want to regenerate the same for when all players are dead and the world's ticking to reset too.

For this I'd recommend endless.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes... 100% yes. This as well as when everyone dies. I lost the world where I first defeated fuelweaver because the person I was playing with was trying to close out of a mod menu and accidentally hit "Regenerate World" instead of the "x" and before she realized what happened the world was wiped. We had plenty of revive options available, well within reach. It's ridiculous that a button with so much destructive potential has no verification. It's just immediate action once clicked on once.

To put this in perspective, there is more of a safeguard protecting your rubber gloves than there is protecting your worlds:

image.thumb.png.6049fea3425f02e9edde32829b84e249.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I agree that the placement should be changed. Constantly. Every time you open that menu regen world will randomly be either the 3rd or 4th slot with rollback being in the other slot. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Cheggf said:

I agree that the placement should be changed. Constantly. Every time you open that menu regen world will randomly be either the 3rd or 4th slot with rollback being in the other slot. 

This is the most evil thing I've ever seen posted on these forums. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Seriously hate the placement and ease with which you can undo literal hundreds of hours accidently. 

First up it needs to be moved somewhere else and not right next to rollback. Some players rollback a fair bit for varying reasons (its a feature after all and some utilise it a fair bit) and regenerating your entire world which is very very different should not be right next to rollback waiting for a single misclick/push to just ruin everything. 

Secondly is there seriously not a "are you sure?" confirmation because if not that is absolutely ******* wild and needs to be remedied ASAP. There is a confirmation screen for rolling back why on earth wouldn't there be one for Regenerate world?

Even if there is a confirmation screen I think there should be a second confirmation needed that is like "are you definitely sure? This will erase all progress on this server and revert you back to day 1" as well as it is easy to hit/hold down a button twice accidently. Failing a second confirmation prompt being added it should have your cursor start on "no" rather than yes in the confirmation screen so you can't accidently double press a button and erase your world completely. 

I play the majority of this game on my one long term server that is approaching 10K days and if I ever accidently deleted it/restored the world I would 100% stop playing DST for good or for a very very long time at the least. I've poured so much work into that world and there should not be a button that if misclicked instantly undoes all that work, time and effort. 

Yes some people constantly start new worlds and servers or want to regenerate an existing world to start over/have fun in the early game again but considering many people also play long term worlds and megabase and whatnot the feature and ability to regenerate a world should have safeguards and be next to impossible to do accidently. Right now it is incredibly easy to do so.

Klei need to fix this ASAP, like next patch ASAP to be completely honest. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Faintly Macabre said:

Uh

Guys?

image.thumb.png.79c8b964eec838db594acd6148fe15b2.pngimage.thumb.png.493b48e0981de5d938c7fe5808882aec.png

Though the default option for controller play probably shouldn't be the affirmative.

Huh.. I'm so careful of never going anywhere near the button that I wasn't sure but looks like there is a confirmation screen after all.

The default option DEFINITELY shouldn't be the affirmative for controller/console play though, the confirmation screen honestly may as well not exist as it is incredibly easy to hit the button twice quickly accidentally. 

I also don't think it should be next to rollback either to be completely honest. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I feel for you console players, not being able to change anything about your favourite games. You can't even use /regenerate

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Faintly Macabre said:

Uh

Guys?

image.thumb.png.79c8b964eec838db594acd6148fe15b2.pngimage.thumb.png.493b48e0981de5d938c7fe5808882aec.png

Though the default option for controller play probably shouldn't be the affirmative.

It's not like that for the "Everyone is Dead" screen 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

12 minutes ago, Dr. Safety said:

It's not like that for the "Everyone is Dead" screen 

That at least is strange, especially considering that when playing with a controller you have to press and hold a button for a few seconds before the process starts.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 5/26/2022 at 12:14 PM, De_Gatherer said:

Would be cool if selecting Regenerate World gave you an additional choice where it’d ask you if you’re absolutely sure and wish to continue.

This would be a great feature, nothing more painful than regening a world with decent world generation when I'm looking for a world to mega base in! 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 6/2/2022 at 3:36 PM, Cap0319 said:

This would be a great feature, nothing more painful than regening a world with decent world generation when I'm looking for a world to mega base in! 

Me: Has day 300 world with awesome megabase

Also Me: Doesn't think

Me again: Regenerates world

Sad me: Darn, why'd i do that

The world was with my xbox friend :( 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 5/27/2022 at 1:40 AM, Cheggf said:

I agree that the placement should be changed. Constantly. Every time you open that menu regen world will randomly be either the 3rd or 4th slot with rollback being in the other slot. 

I like you. You have good ideas.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

My only wish; when "rollback counter" starts, the "world regen counter" would stop; At least two times I've died due to laggy performance and loosing all progress because I couldn't start rollback on client felt really bad :(

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Please be aware that the content of this thread may be outdated and no longer applicable.

×
×
  • Create New...