New to Hamlet, need a few tips

Aalda11

I've played Hamlet for a few hours now but I'm realizing it probably requires a different way of playing. I have about 200 hours in DS in general so I started playing the way I was used to but I'm having trouble doing that.

First food. My usual tactic is to build a base next to a beeffalo herd and plant a spider nest or two nearby. Then I run bring all the berry bushes I can find and plant a farm. With about 20 bushes and two spider nests my food and silk problems are solved for an eternity, I just keep making meatballs and I'm fine. Sometimes I kill a beeffalo and make a few jerkies to replenish health and sanity.

However in Hamlet things aren't as easy. First, obtaining monster meat seems to be more difficult. So far I've only seen two types of monsters frequent enough to farm - the weevols and the toothy plants. The former drop eat only rarely, the latter not at all. I've found a scorpion in a cave once and it dropped a piece but I can't find any farmable spot for them. I've also found a mant hill but the one mant that patrolled around didn't drop meat, only chitin. Plus the hill is on the other end of the map. There are also the spider monkeys but they're a bit too beefy to farm. 

As for normal meat, I was farming the guard pigs but fighting them is very annoying and the idea of this being my main source of food isn't appealing at all. Killing the hippos is quite easy and they drop 4 meats but I quickly found out they don't reproduce fast enough to farm. I basically ate all of them in my vicinity in the first few days. And there don't seem to be any koalefants in Hamlet.

So what's the deal with food in Hamlet? Am I doing it wrong building my base in the city? Are you just supposed to sell clippings and berries and buy food? The same goes for silk - it's way more difficult to get silk from the spider monkeys and trees, are you supposed to buy ready made products from shops?

Thanks!

Rush the Crock pot.