Terra vs Swamp - starting cluster comparison

Maybe I should wait a little longer to make a "vs" starting biome topic (until there would be no more changes..) but they seem solid enough.

terra-swamp.jpg.7b2f4cbad17a1344fa4b1a9445e4ce41.jpg

At first glance terra seems horrible. I had a @babba reaction when Starting Terra map was first introduced but then I started playing...

I originally investigated the food aspect (before even the "hot! hot! hot!" one) because it seemed like swamp had more variety.

I didn't find any big differences though.

Spoiler

450418360_terrastartfood.thumb.jpg.aa7d22ebb306ea0e842738911389f61e.jpg

1677150333_swampstartfood.thumb.jpg.c972cecdc127c1951f4c483714d5f2e6.jpg

*Comparing what crops are found in every planet (planetoid/asteroid/moonlet.... whatever.. :D )

Cooking needed 0 - micromusher

Cooking needed 1 - grill

Cooking needed 2 - gas range

After playing some more, I concluded swamp is more difficult because:

• Everything collapse...
  • It has only one farmed crop while terra has two (also needs hydroponic farm to reduce dupe labor and map is too cold at first for grupfruit).
  • There isn't much dirt for research (until you dig space biome)
  • Polluted oxygen apart from "yucky lungs" debuff it also makes it difficult to have a CO2 pit (don't know why... ). Only when I put deodorizers on top the CO2 pit I could stabilize it.
  • And of course, no source of reed fiber.

Terra's disadvantage of heat is solved easily using insulated tiles around base (leaving geysers for later..) and you can have ready-to-use water for O2 production when geysers are finally dormant without any other filtration systems (although bristle blossoms wouldn't like that water..). Farming mealwood lasts long enough and the problem later on is frost not heat...

Spoiler

84337669_terrastart.thumb.jpg.bc30b29a5084cbc06f3c49ec1f9bf824.jpg

601752499_swampstart_.thumb.jpg.483fa48fb6738beba75e84313e4f640d.jpg