Explain how to use ethanol to a complete noob

Aquatuner.   Have the aquatuner in some liquid in a hotzone and insulate all the pipe.  I've stuck mine right in the CoolSteamVent before.   Other people like to use petrol.

Only set it up if you got time cause i believe domesticated beans are still 24 cycles.  Maybe 12 with fertilizer.

It's a trap. You use half of the power from it just to produce the ethanol, and the rest of it to skim the CO2, cool all the heat it produces, and operate a pump for the polluted water (from the petroleum generator). In fact, it tends to cost more power than it makes, and even then you can only pull it off by using a rather extensive set of equipment, including a steam turbine (so, you'll need plastic).

It's power positive if you don't do one of those things for some reason, like if you WANT a bunch of CO2 or polluted water or heat, or if you don't need to cool anything because you live in an ice block. Even so, the power benefit tends to be marginal. I think that's what ethanol is "for", and using it to generate power is a red herring distraction to make the game tricky.

Edit: Oh... but if an asteroid has ethanol just lying around, then that can definitely work. That could work very well for power.

2 hours ago, Tonyroid said:

It's a trap. You use half of the power from it just to produce the ethanol, and the rest of it to skim the CO2, cool all the heat it produces, and operate a pump for the polluted water (from the petroleum generator). In fact, it tends to cost more power than it makes, and even then you can only pull it off by using a rather extensive set of equipment, including a steam turbine (so, you'll need plastic).