Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Please be aware that the content of this thread may be outdated and no longer applicable.

SR17740    193

FIRST OFF THIS IS A JOKE, please don't kill me

I'm just having some fun here

Also might be educational idk-

So I was doing what I do best and procrastinating, I was reading up on plant biology because that's what I'm studying in school currently. Until my mind wandered and I thought, Wormwood's a plant, I wonder if they're able to reproduce. 
So upon looking at wormwood in full bloom, I noticed something odd.

image.png.3de00fe4cea30126244964a1f6160ed3.png

There is only a single spire(?) thing in the centre of the flower, at first, I thought oh it's a stigma (female part), meaning Wormwood is an incomplete flower and can't reproduce. Until I realised that there was pollen coming from it, now stigma cannot create pollen, only stamen (male part). Now, this was very weird as a plant only having a stamen and it being on top of the plant is a strange thing. At this point, I thought "Why am I looking so far into this, it's a fictional plant-" but then I remembered a plant that I used to grow at home.

CORN.

Now corn plants are very weird when it comes to reproduction, they have a single stamen at the top and when it's time to pollinate the corn, the stamen drops pollen onto the awaiting stigma and petals. Which looks very similar to what Wormwood is doing. This means the petals on the side of his face are most likely the petals that protect the stigma. 

Now does this have any lore relevance? No.
Is this in anyways important? No.
Am I looking way too far into this? Definitely, 100%, but I found it interesting and perhaps someone else might too. 

So in conclusion, Wormwood is related to corn based on the way they reproduce and I have far too much time on my hands. 

Thank you!