Renewable Energy Source - Other than Solar?

So I just started playing again after a couple of months and I found out I can't do the Polluted-Water-Fertilizer-Maker-Natural-Gas-Generator thing anymore because I'd now need 9 Fertilizer Makers to run 1 NG Generator. Which makes doing this setup use more energy than produce. So, what's the alternative now?

P.S. I have a game with no NG geysers, my dupes are close to dying of suffocation, I have barely reached the surface, I have way too much hot water which I have no means to cool, I'm running out of cycles aaand I'm still hoping to still save the game.

Are you sure you have no NG geysers? I've also just started playing again after a couple of months, and among other things I've found that geysers are lots easier to overlook than they used to be.

Old days, you could spot them from miles away. Now they can be pretty stealthy.

To more directly answer your question without getting super spoilery:

Much like you, I'm back after a few months. And like you, I've found that the massive fertilizer NG thing doesn't work anymore.

In comparison to when you and I last played, I've found that in general there's more natural fuel sources lying scattered about the world, usually visible to the naked eye but often very easy to overlook if you aren't examining the area very closely. I've also found that the ice biomes are, when thoroughly searched, even more useful for heat dissipation than they used to be.

NG geysers are buffed significantly since the fert maker rework, you just need a high pressure chamber to store all the extra NG so it can last during the geyser dormant period. And NG geysers should be guaranteed, a map will always spawn between 1 and 2 of them. (second spawn replaces chlorine)