Warly appreciation & discussion

So I've been returning to DST after not playing for quite a while (a couple of years I think?). Tons of interesting changes and new characters.

Someone that caught my eye is Warly. I liked him right off the bat since Shipwrecked.
Unfortunately there is a bit of a "not worth the trouble"-type of character in terms of pure efficiency and the upside is the challenge rather than him being uniquely powerful in a way.

However this is quite different in DST. His downsides are still rather severe, as he is the character that tries his hardest to actually starve, but he comes with upsides that are definitely worth doing additional work for:

* His crockpot and pouch are nice addtions but a bit more of a necessity rather than a big payoff.
* Some of the additional recipees are really nice and very efficent or provide unique, powerful utility.
* Seasonings are insanely powerful, last for about half a day, are reasonably accessible/affordable.

Interestingly he also alters the typical playstile that you'd follow with some of the more versatile characters.
With some of the fighters you can pretty much go *ham* right off the *bat* and most of the characters can afford to explore for much longer than Warly. His downside(s) are so severe that you are almost forced to quickly work towards his upsides, by increasing food production both in terms of value and diversity. This makes Warly uniquely interesting.

Warly is quite obviously right up there with some of the best support characters such as Wickerbottom, Wormwood (living logs!) et al. However I would even say he surpasses them by a significant margin (in terms of supporting a group) if the required setup is met.