Lag issue with adding caves and some questions

Before I even start this, I want you to know I am a BIG noob at DST. I have 1300+ hours in the base game (regular Don't Starve), but I know very little about DST's exclusive content. Everything I am writing is taking into consideration MY understanding of how DST works. This basically means it's likely that I'm dead wrong in a lot of what I say. Thank you.

Here are my basic computer details. I can give more advanced details if needed.

Processor: AMD A4-5300B APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics

Video Card: AMD Radeon HD 7480D

RAM: 4.0 GB

Operating System: Windows 7

So as many people know, adding caves can give you lag (picking up items, chopping, mining, crafting, harvesting, etc.) if you don't have a great computer, which is the case for me. While I must say, the lag isn't terrible, it is annoying to deal with. I'm hosting the server, playing solo. I have trouble with lag when adding caves (I know it's because I'm basically running a whole other server) so due to this, I don't have them added on my current game. I don't have access to ANY ruins stuff (obviously), and worst of all, torches are my only renewable source of portable light. I know you can get renewable fireflies from the oasis, and a creature in the ocean has a chance to drop light bulbs. I'm not even considering those two things due to fact that getting fuel from them is unreliable, tedious, or it takes a long time to renew such resources in said manner. I even went through all the trouble of making a dedicated server, but I didn't notice any difference in the amount of lag.  

Considering above, I have some questions.

1. Is it also normal for you to be completely frozen and place and even teleported to where you were a few seconds ago when caves are added?

2. Are there any ways to improve lag caused by adding caves without upgrading my computer?