How should I put my storage bins?

I'm kinda bad at this game and I'm not sure how to place my storage bins. Since I started playing I always placed them in a single storage room. I started to realize this is sort of bad. How should I place them? Near things I need? (Like coal near coal generator or dirt near farms and research station). I also saw some people put them in long corridors between rooms. It looks weird. Is it good?

The best way is YOUR way. However like you said, having storage compactors storing a specific ressource near a building needing that is usually a good practice; coal for gen, algae near oxidizer, sand near water sieve, dirt near mealwood... the list goes on.

Now for other resources you have in huge quantities and no immediate use, I recommend using an automatic dispenser set on sweep only in order to store everything you sweep on one single tile (careful with temperature of materials you bring in though); this effectively is an infinite size storage, on the downside, it uses a tiny bit of power and provides -120 decor in close proximity. This technique is also useful late game in order to improve game performance as it lowers the number of calculations made for temperature updates (a chunk of 25t is way better than 250 chunks of 100kg).

If you don't have the technology yet of dispenser you can always fill one storage compactor set to sweep only and dump its content on the ground when full, rinse and repeat.

I use a container or two near the building that needs a specific resource (like coal gens), set to only that resource and priority 5. Then I have my general storage warehouse with lots of containers that take anything (except stuff that offgasses or melts) with priority 4.

1 hour ago, DonDegow said:

I didn't know that, does it drop way slower when unpowered? I thought it wouldn't drop anything if not powered.

Other way around.. it needs power to HOLD things when given an automation signal.

1 hour ago, DonDegow said: