Is it possible to kite on DST servers?

Hi! I'm kinda new to the game, so I might be asking a very unintelligent question. Is it possible to kite on DST? Seeing how the server is hosted on a player's computer, there should be some transmission delay between what's happening on a guest's screen and what's happening on the host's screen. Since that it'll lower a player's reaction time, are DS kiting strategies still viable in DST, or are they completely obsolete?

2 hours ago, Princess Wendy said:

Hi! I'm kinda new to the game, so I might be asking a very unintelligent question. Is it possible to kite on DST? Seeing how the server is hosted on a player's computer, there should be some transmission delay between what's happening on a guest's screen and what's happening on the host's screen. Since that it'll lower a player's reaction time, are DS kiting strategies still viable in DST, or are they completely obsolete?

Hello, and welcome to DST and the forums. :)

Actually, kiting depends on the server you are playing in, it ss always better to play in the server with lowest ping, I only would recommend turning Lag Compensation in game's menu to None, Small Textures and Netbook mode to On and playing wired to your router.

Welcome on the forums!

Kiting does exist in DST, tho it feels (is?) a bit different from kiting in DS. You can kite everything in DST that you could in DS. The better the ping, the better and more reliably you can kite on the server. From my experience, if the ping reaches 100ms it gets a bit more difficult, and on servers with around 150-180ms ping (servers from other continents... :S ) it gets definitely more complicated. It is still possible to kite there if you get used to it, but usually you can hit one less (annoying by bosses) and much more unreliable. There are still groups and their servers however that are so good that it is worth to play on them even with 180 ping ;)