Ice crystalizer freezing needs to go

So, here is something I had to learn the hard way by dying multiple times (because I'm Wanda). Ice crystalizer makes you freeze to death, and the only way to save yourself is to have a furnace INSIDE the range of ice crystalizer. Mine was outside and I had no idea this game's temperature mechanics are weird like that. Standing for half a minute near 2 furnaces did not help, pulling out all 4 thermals did not help either. I took damage for half a minute until I died. Thermal stone will protect you from ice crystalizer, but only in spring and winter. It does not help in summer or autumn. 

I'm not a programmer so I don't really get why the temperature works the way it does, but I get the impression this is some kind of simple code that was made assuming noone will freeze in summer. And it got me wondering why even make a late game structure have an annoying downside like this, if the game is not designed to make players freeze in summer? Is it my fault that I didn't understand how furnace and crystalizer work? Game does not have a temperature meter, and I just don't see the logic in furnace working only when placed a specific way. 

I think this downside needs to go. Summer is the most annoying season and yet the item that is meant to fix that is also annoying. 

• Like 4

pretty sure that it doesn't work like that since i remember freezing because of a mooncaller star and temperature going above 0 after a few seconds, were you using something with summer insulation?

The reason it's upsides work is due to the fact world temperature inside the area changes. You're getting the ability to place a little mini Winter essentially with upsides and downsides.