Cleaning water with Chlorine gas?

Hello, I'm new to this game and I have a question. 

After cleaning water with the water sieve facility my cleaned water is still full of germs. Makes no sense for me but that is the way it is. I dont want my people to get sick so I was thinking about desinfecting it with gas. I spend a few hours building a reservoir and set up the pumps and vents, filled that new cave with approximately 1.9Kg of chlorine gas per square. Then I filled my sieved water inside. 

But as you can see, the germ change rate is not changed by that chlorine atmosphere at all. -26/s is about what I get if i just use a regular oxygen atmosphere. -3% 

This little bit of water with only 450K germs in it will take appro 4,5-5 real time hours to get clean.

So what can I do go get rid of that germs? Using heat to boil them to dead, is no option since my base is already too warm, even without me starting to boil something in it. 

chlorine.jpg

water.jpg

You need to have the water in a tank in Chlorine gas for this to work. The tank needs some level of water in it, just having it flow through will do nothing. Sterilizing the pwater is more effective, as the pdirt from the sieve will then be sterile too. Typically, this is done with a series of tanks (I usually use 5) or some more complicated regulator mechanism.

Think of polluted water as being muddy. You can run muddy water through a sieve to remove the dirt and make it clear, but it'll still need to be boiled before it's safe to drink.

If your base (or more specifically, your farms) is getting too hot, I'd suggest you forget about decontaminating your water for now and focus on installing a cooling system. Germs reduce your efficiency, but heat murders your base.