DST Themes: Enlightenment vs Romanticism

Starting with A New Reign, I believe Klei has been incorporating into DST the themes of Enlightenment vs Romanticism. As I research the lore, I’ve been making a lot of connections between DST and these themes. Whether all are intentional or not, I think they are fun to think about.

I am no expert in any of these subjects, and therefore am uncomfortable with writing out definitions. I will just link some of the videos/articles that really resonated for me. Feel free to seek out more information on your own! Maybe you will find your own connections to share.

To start, TV Tropes has a good article for this. Check out the Team Romanticism tab, especially.

This video also explains the “rivalry” between Enlightenment and Romanticism in less than 4 minutes, with some Frankenstein analysis to boot

Here’s another article. I especially like how the last sentence sums it up.

“In short, Romanticism seeks to find the role of the individual in a chaotic and mutable world, while the Enlightenment looks for the empirical and justifiable strictures of such a world.”

So I’m going to try to go through some additions to the world of DST from ANR through RoT that can be connected to these themes. I’m only going to focus on these additions and not everything that came before DST that may also fit, because we can be here all day with that!

Tragic Torch and Metheus

The reward for the Cyclum Puzzles is the Tragic Torch skin. This would later be necessary to start the Metheus puzzles. The fact that it is a “tragic” torch that is needed to find the “Metheus” puzzles is a transparent reference to the story of Prometheus. Most people are somewhat familiar with this legend, but if you want a little refresher, here’s a TED Ed video about it.

The figure wielding the Torch in the obelisk murals seems to be a tragic figure like Prometheus, and being a torchbearer makes it highly likely that they are Metheus.