Does electrolyzer + Hydrogen Generator still work well in automation upgrade?

I just started playing right after the automation upgrade, and I've been trying to use the hydrogen generator to make us of the electrolyzer's output but I just cannot seem to make this even a little efficient.  Even with a steady stream of hydrogen the generator only produces good power when I first set is up then it doesn't even produce enough to power the gas pump and filter to it. I've tried a few different set ups that seem to predate automation upgrade like encasing the pump and electrolyzer in a room. Currently I'm using a peak in my base to collect the hydrogen and set up everything at the top but I end up with a dupe on a hamster wheel to power the pump unless i set up coal or something to power it.

What am I doing wrong or did it change a bit?888AD37C607A47B4E9DCE1B4118FA8C49205DA6958FF1253BB5D036639670F5B661C3583C41F6531

In practice, it's not terribly easy to simply run an Electrolyzer and route all of the Hydrogen it produces to a Hydrogen Generator. I'm sure it can be done, but I like to keep things as compact as possible, and I've settled on this setup:

AirAndPower.thumb.png.279b1c72a055ba9554553cfd5e9141f8.png

Okay, so it's a bit cluttered. Lemme break it down:

• I have other forms of power production in use. This Hydrogen Generator and Power Transformer are hooked directly into my backbone circuit.
  • Electrolyzer outputs a total of 1000 g of gas per second. A Gas Pump and Gas Pipes can move 500 g of gas per second, hence doubling up on the Pumps and Gas Filters.
  • For maintenance purposes, the left Signal Switch controls the Electrolyzer and the right Signal Switch controls the Gas Pumps.
  • Add Wheezeworts to taste for temperature moderation.
  • The Filters select Hydgrogen, of course. Both outputs from both Filters are mixed inside of Gas Bridges.

Next comes the metrics:

• Gas Pump consumes 240 W of power
  • Gas Filter consumes 120 W of power