Psychology in Don't Starve

Excess

When I started playing Don't Starve, the first thing I did was to map the coast, so I would know what I was up against.

Recently I understood that doing this took out all the mystery of the unexpected. I knew exactly where I should make my main camp, where all the resources would be, where I shouldn't venture unarmed, etc.

I realized I love the thrill of not knowing what's out there.

That's why from that realization until today, I don't map the shores.

What did you realized about how you play the game that makes you enjoy it more?

Same I'm currently in the business of expanding on my first island until I feel I have tamed it for my benefit then I move on to the next etc.

Also, when doing LP episodes I like to take no risk calculation and simply do whatever strikes me as moderately amusing in a moment. Tends to get me killed a lot.

Just the simple joy of wandering around and watching things happen. Just the other day I witnessed the awesome event of a tentacle being torn to bits for making the mistake of attacking a spider near an infestation of about 4 spider nests. It fought hard, but in the end, the spider horde was too much for it. Awesome sauce.

I tend to map the world out before settling in. In a real scenario I'd want to get my bearings as much as possible.

Me too, and that was my first instinct when I started playing the game. But try this out: Don't. Try to explore randomly, around your camp. Try not knowing where the stones are, where the pigs are, where the tentacles are right away.

Do a blind run.

And then obviously report back here and tell me how you felt different (or not) the game, and which did you enjoyed the most.

Edited by Excess
Do it... FOR SCIENCE!