Add Upgradeable Homes. Fences. Increase Risk/Reward at night

As Soon as I started playing I established a "base of operation" that I would try to be back at by nightfall. I think most people play similarly (perhaps an interesting point for a sociologist). I like coming "home" at night, even though it's just a patch of farms, berry bushes and grasses--that I try, and sometimes fail, to not burn down. I recommend having a base house that can be built. Making it 3D would be difficult given the layout of the game, so I would say simply show an animation of the door opening and closing and then show our character climbing into bed through an outside window. This would be something that would be obtainable "mid-game" in the tech tree after the player has accumulated a stash of resources.

I recommend making the houses upgradeable where items grown at the farm or obtained from the environment allow the house to be slowly externally improved--perhaps it starts as a shack and then slowly becomes a mansion.

I would also recommend fences for farms. The rabbits and various wildlife would eat your vegetables and berries if you don't have them properly fenced in otherwise. And perhaps a scarecrow that can be made to fend of the crows that would eat your vegetables.

Last, have items that can only be obtained at night (in addition to fireflies). These items could be vanity items for a player's base or powerful items that improve attack/defense power. In exchange the areas that have these items would be more dangerous and require greater player skill to survive.

I feel positive something like this has been brought up before. Toaster Fu will tell you but I love the idea. I don't need the house but it would be a comfort to have, of course I think there should be things that need to be constantly stocked in the house.