Expanding to Pacus

I've never used Pacus before as a food source aside from what naturally spawns on the map and dies.  I never considered them as a food source because they eat algae and I keep on worrying I'd run out.  Almost every build I do, I run out at some point but my current build has good SPOM setups so I was thinking of expanding to include Pacus and eventually make surf n' turf.  I've looked at YT and the newest videos are about a year old so I wonder if they are still viable today?  Does the community have a preferred/ideal build layout?  I don't have the beta/expansion, just the base game if that makes any difference.

Any advice and suggestions for a first-time Pacu farmer would be appreciated!  Thanks!

I prefer "lazy" builds, meaning as little dupe interaction as possible. Usually when I have my hatch farms ready (2-3 stables, stone hatches for  coal+eggs), I build a 3 tile deep pit with at least 1000kg of water at the bottom, close to my printing pod, in order to use it as "evolution" chamber for my hatches and pool for occasional pacu prints. Then building an auto-sweeper transferring meat and pacu fillet to the kitchen and dupes only have to cook.

If you want to increase your population of pacu, I would suggest to feed only one in the beggining and stop when enough eggs are produced (don't remember exact numbers pacus/dupe). Leaving them in a room large enough so they don't get cramped, they will produce an egg before they die.

Breeding room for 2 pacu:1836076392_NewTextDocument(2).thumb.jpg.ba990f3df5ddef0458c11f91de8cf69b.jpg:

auto-swiper remove eggs from room, box is out of sweeper range. After pacu die, I put 2 eggs manually into box.

And here is result of 500+cycles of breeding. Actually, I use 1-pacu farm first 400 breeding cycles, now I use 2. From my advices, no need to feed them all at once, feed from one to eight. Also, there were guide how to reduce amount of algae for breeding, but I'm too lazy for it.