add an alternative way to access caves with one server

so, i have been having problems with caves enabled, because my game lags a lot when enabled, which often justdrives me away from using them entirely, which is a shame since caves are very valuable because of the resources they give. so, i had an idea that what if we had something like a wormhole on the surface to lead us to a land area that is away from the main land and ocean, that has all the cave content and darkness, similar to the basements mod. i know that there would be some lag, but i feel there would be a lot less.

I’m not very experienced with how the “server shards” thing works... how does having caves be it’s own thing lag your system down? I think the reason why caves has to have its own server is because of the gameplay elements it provides (underground rain, random stuff always falling from earthquakes, always dark etc..)

So it couldn’t just be placed on the surface world and work.

However... Xbox Live just gave away Portal Knights as this months free game with gold- and in THAT game you build portals and teleport to various biomes, climates, and more each “portal” has its own unique lands, world dangers, enemy mobs, etc.. this is something that I’ve been begging Klei to do to DST ever since the day I arrived on these forums (and I’m just NOW finding out that Portal Knights exists..)

I bring this little game up- because it supports multiple players and seems to handle traveling all over the world just fine- I think the largest difference between Portal Knights and DST- is that everyone is warped to the new area in PK but in DST players could be on the surface while others are still down inside caves.

Klei maybe would have to update the way the game runs or something, how multiple locations are processed throughout their game.. but for now I will just play Portal Knights and dream of the day the Dont Starve franchise allows me to do this.