Took me 717 Cycles to get my first Drop of Petroleum + Plastic & Steel

I am fairly new to Oxygen Not Included, started playing the game in May. Been playing it like a crazy men ever since and sucking up all the content I can find and after getting to 500 Cycles last world until I restarted because of the new update, I really wanted to get to late game this time (everything automated & smart, space base, all critters etc).

So I decided screw real life and everything, I am playing at least two hours of this beautiful game every day so I can achieve my goals until the new update probably forces me to restart again. So the grind has been on, started my world the day the update came out, am now closing in on 1000 cycles and have been putting out daily episodes every since. 

In my current "season" I wanted to set up a smart water system with logic for shortages, temperatures and so on (spoiler: I did it, it is awesome but took forever).

Because of that I only got to playing with oil at 700+ cycles in which is kinda crazy. World is going just fine currently and thanks to this amazing forum I even know how to deal with my lime shortage so I can deal with space beating the top of my map down soon. 

Anyways, I was just curious if I anyone got some stories about getting super late into a tech and how it impacted their game. For me the only annoying thing was not having plastic made creating vacuums kinda hard. I would definitely advise getting a crappy plastic production going just for high pressure vents. 

I know I cannot speak English and watching my videos is probably a pain in the ass but I would love some feedback on some of the stuff I am doing late game so if anyone has some spare time, let me know what you think! :p

Shameless plug of my latest let's play episode below (the one in which I finally get petroleum, plastic & steel going) in which I build a smart metal refinery design which keeps cycling oil until it gets to hot - design at 30:20 in action.