Help! Saving progress

Hi - I’m new to the game and playing on my PS3 so this maybe a dumb question. I’ve been playing for 3 days now and don’t understand what’s the point of saving the game if everything is wiped out if I die.  Is it just in case you need to shut down or am I missing something obvious??. I made it to 6 days yesterday then I died and I started again from day 1. 

2 minutes ago, Szncor said:

So that’s it? Even If you’re in day 23,767 if you die you start from Day 1? That  can’t be!

Yes. It's called a roguelike.
You can make things such as Life Giving Amulets, Meat Effigies, or find Touch Stones to resurrect you upon death, however.
If you're playing with friends they can sacrifice 40 health to make a Telltale Heart which will revive you also.

3 minutes ago, Szncor said:

So that’s it? Even If you’re in day 23,767 if you die you start from Day 1? That  can’t be!

If you make it to that (maybe even a bit earlier if you're good), you can make life giving amulets or meat effigies to revive you. Or you can use touchstones.

Ouch! It’s going to be a tough game! And here I am complaining at dying on day 6! I will be miserable if it happens in day 100! Lol.  Good to know though... I thought I was missing something. And I’m playing alone so I will need the life amulets, etc. Ouch again!

17 minutes ago, Szncor said:

Ouch! It’s going to be a tough game! And here I am complaining at dying on day 6! I will be miserable if it happens in day 100! Lol.  Good to know though... I thought I was missing something. And I’m playing alone so I will need the life amulets, etc. Ouch again!

You dont need the amulets and stuff, you just need to play more, know about the game, learn tips tricks and tactics how to base and deal with monsters in general, survive all the seasons.

Just ask anything ppl here tend to help  a lot.

19 minutes ago, Szncor said:

hello from day 2280