Guard Rails

Tired of jumping onto your boat, only to slip into the water and lose half your inventory?  You're not alone.  I'm no programmer, but as a rule of thumb, there should be no way to drown when you board your vessel.

I've noticed, in my case when I jump my boat and... land in water, it usually happens because of my high ping and/or rubberbanding (I only play pubs, no personal servers), more-so if an object from boat is close to the margin am jumping on aka in my jumping path.

It can happen if the spot where your character is trying to land is blocked by something (or if the boat is moving, weeee, but then you are kind of asking for trouble).

Edit:

Having the landing site and boat cluttered is also asking for trouble, come to think of it.

Keep your vessel seaworthy. Ahoy!

yeah, ive learned to design my boats to not have any "physical structures" near the parameter of the boat. Just so i dont need to worry about being pushed off by a crock pot or something.
It definitely limits how much i can put on my boat. But personally I dont really know how they could fix this in a reasonable manor.
Like, they could make it so you phase through the structure... but that could be abused.
They could make it so you cant jump on the boat in the first place, but that could get annoying if you are in a panic.
and those are the only two options I can think of

18 hours ago, DarkPulse91 said:

Like, they could make it so you phase through the structure... but that could be abused.

Do you have any examples of how that could be abused? My mind is coming up blank thinking how that might be exploited.

There's also the problem with wavey jones spawning underneath a structure with collision so you can't step on wavey to get rid of him which really stinks...

6 minutes ago, Hornete said:

Do you have any examples of how that could be abused? My mind is coming up blank thinking how that might be exploited.