Why does the game clock run backwards?

I didn't notice this until I started playing with automation timers, but the game clock runs counterclockwise. 

Think in terms of taking a lunch break from 12-1 every day. Does the 12-1 time slice rotate around until it gets to the top? Which way would the slice rotate? Now check the image of the clock below and you'll see what I mean.

You really see this when you go to automation and set up a timer. In this case the game keeps the face fixed and moves the minute hand in a counter-clockwise direction.

This is unnecessarily confusing.

• Can I figure it out? Sure.
  • Wouldn't it be easier for the face to stay fixed and the minute hand sweep around? Yes, much easier.

file.thumb.gif.c9e8b3bfe85ecc8b033e8ff32e6eaa18.gif

And it will be easier if we can input manually by keyboard. Sometimes that slider, I'm sure same number but open/close not exactly same time. Just let me type a number and hit enter please.

Edit: NVM, I thought clock on sensor

The two runs the same way.

I think the thing that disturb you is that the asteroïd turns in the clock, but not in the sensor.

But if it was the arrow that turns arround the asteroïd in the main screen, you'll see that the two of these runs the same way. ;)

Either way it's (IMHO) added complexity that doesn't make the game more fun for me...just annoying. I was trying to set up a chain of events with several timers and having the clock spin backwards with the face spinning in one screen and the red indicator moving on the other screen was unnecessary.

Space is a mysterious place where what we take for granted might not be valid everywhere. Venus has sunrise in west and sunset in east. It also has a yearly cycle, which is shorter than the day cycle (it rotates slower around itself than it rotates around the sun). Asteroids rotating either way makes perfect sense in a scientific sense.