I'm a newbie

Bunnymen farms for food. Go to the caves and find ~3 villages. Hammer them and place them near your base. Give one a carrot then cancel your attack on another one. With the carrots and meat, you can make pirogi and bacon and eggs by using a birdcage mentioned by minespatch.

Kill beefalo before winter so you can gain extra meat and warmth (beefalo hat). To kill them, hit one then run. Lead it away from the group. Let it attack then attack 6 times and let it attack again. Repeat.

Always have armor with you or the materials to make it.

When deerclops comes, go to the swamp for quick monster meat and an easy kill for the eye.

Just some quick tips.

In addition to making a thermal stone, try making a winter hat. It's only silk and beefalo wool. You can get the wool easily by shaving beefalo at night while they sleep. Or if you're playing as Wickerbottom you could use sleepy time stories to put them to sleep and shave them at any time of day. Or if you feel like you could take down a beefalo, you could try to make a beefalo hat. It also helps to keep logs and grass on you so you can make a campfire if you ever start freezing.

Surviving Winter as Newbie:

1.) Craft Winter Hat, (Silk+Beefalo wool). Silk: If you afraid to kill spiders, do some traps, and make them follow you to said traps. Once there are no more spiders left, kill the spider nest and collect the silk. Wool: Just do a razor and shave them at night
2.) Craft Thermal Stone, they are amazing to survive more time outside of your base.
3.) Food, Go around the edges of the world, make a lot of penguins spawn. They will spawn a lot of ice, collect it. You can legit get almost 200 ice during this period. 3 Ice + (Meat/MonsterMeat/Morsel/FrogLeg/AnyJerky) = Meatballs. Cheapest food you can make with no effort at all.