Suction Piping and Gravity Pumping

So,  I am a nuclear reactor operator by trade, and this obviously means that I absolutely love this game, especially the gas and liquid systems.

That said, the implementation of the gas and liquid systems is...odd.  I have operated many dozens of systems containing everything from pure water to radioactive gases and everything in between.  With that in mind, the system in the game presently is really strangely designed and this limits what you can do with them and how effective they are.  Two major shortcomings are the lack of intake piping for both liquid and gas systems.  As well as the inability to move gases or fluids by use of gravity or pressure differentials.  The latter ties into the former.

Very few pumps in my experience, be they gas compressors, fans, or liquid pumps, are simply placed inside the fluid  volume you want to move.  This makes sense for a lot of reasons.  One reason is that it submersion doesn't allow for different suction sources to a given pump to be aligned.  Each pump can draw from only a single tank in the current system, which really limits the types of systems that can be built and makes systems that could make use of a single pump require many.  Plus, it would be hell to perform maintenance or replace pumps if they were always inside liquid or gas tanks.

Closely related to all of this is the inability to gravity or pressure pump inside the piping systems.  Without non-pumped inputs you can't create passive fluid systems.  In practice, once should be able to place a non-pumped intake inside a volume of fluid at an elevated location or pressure, run piping from there to a lower elevation or pressure area, put a vent on, and gravity or pressure should do the rest.