Suggestion for Caves Layout / Ruins Implementation

This week on Klei's Rhymes With Play stream we learned more about caves in Don't Starve Together. Initially, caves will require two separate dedicated servers, one to run the overworld and another to run the caves (a way to play with caves using non-dedicated servers is in the works, but coming later).

Currently the ruins are not included at all, but are in queue to be implemented after the caves are stabilized and released. The implication seems to be that they are planned to be yet another, third dedicated server/shard to be run simultaneously with the overworld and the caves. I'm no programmer, but this seems like it might be a shard too far. I have an alternate suggestion that might be simpler. Based on these issues and also some design concepts for cave layouts that Klei shared in a previous podcast, I propose a biome-based solution to combine both the caves and the ruins together into one world.

post-213550-0-95021100-1442026908_thumb.

Klei's own cave layout plans were similar to this, making the center of the caves more dangerous, with the outsides less difficult to traverse and containing many exits to the surface. But we don't need to make a more difficult version of the caves to place in the center, we already have that! They're called the ruins. I suggest placing all of the ruins biomes and content in the center and surround that with the caves biomes, as pictured above.