Cool Steam Vent + AETN (Oxygen Cooling) - Question

hello everyone! i’m pretty new to the game. looked for this all over for the last hours but couldn’t find any information.

my base is running low on oxygen atm. i have a cool steam vent somewhat near to the left of my base. i also found two really close aetn to the right of my base. i was wondering if it would be possible to cool down the oxygen to around 25 degrees and bring it back to my base. do i even need the two aetns to do this?

i was planning to use an electrolizer to do this, as it would sustain both the hydrogen to fuel the aetn and the oxygen i’m planning to breathe. the excess hydrogen would be used to generate energy.

is it possible? can aetn cool it down to the right temperature?

One AETN can condense a little over 1 kg/s of steam from the cool steam vent to 95°C water. That will run one electrolyzer full time.

You can then use the other AETN to cool down the 95°C oxygen that it outputs. Cooling the oxygen is more effective than cooling the water. It should be able to get it to 25°C easily.

This will provide cool oxygen for... almost 9 dupes :).

I recommend setting up the oxygen cooling system first as the cool steam vent probably has a lot of condensed water around it already. There's a lot that can go wrong. It will probably take many tries to get the condenser working reliably if you're new to the game.

Calculations:

80kDTU/s cooling per AETN ÷ 4.179kDTU/°C/kg water = 19.14°C cooling for 1kg/s water from one AETN

80kDTU/s ÷ 1.005kDTU/°C/kg oxygen = 79.6°C cooling for 1kg/s oxygen from one AETN

made some tests in sandbox before coming back to read the comments.

in fact i can't pipe this steam. sad.

i'm trying a setup like this:

1. i pipe hot water to a room and turn into oxygen + hydrogen

2. i use a frog (this gas separator thing) to send oxygen into aetn chamber and hydrogen to power the aetn itself. the excess hydrogen is sent to power up hydrogen energy generators.