Health Bars for Mobs & Damage Indicators

I think this would be a nice, small addition to the game. Because other mobs have health, right? And so do the players.I'm not really sure what else to say. Maybe the weapons should have a damage stat in the crafting menu to show how much damage the weapon is capable of doing? (1-10, 6-8, etc) Just an example on damage indicators/health bars I made on Paint :p I actually have no clue if Beefalos have a specific amount of health, I'm just guessing here. :p It's my first time uploading a picture, so it might not even work :/post-10885-13764591386342_thumb.jpgEh, it's small, but at least it showed up. I hope everyone can see it all right.-Puny

Edited by PunyMan9
Verification

I would like it to be optional. I kind of like not being able to see the health of enemies, adds to the tension during fights a bit, not knowing when it will end. Just a simple setting in options "Health bars: on/off" would be fine though. The only other issue I see with it is it would look very clunky in say, a horde of beefalos. Maybe perhaps a more compact system like Terraria would work? Where you would see the HP of a mob only when hovering the mouse over them, e.g "47/60hp".Also, on the topic of bars, I made a similar thread here.

• Developer

We've actually been trying to avoid adding non-player-focused UI elements. Wilson isn't supposed to fully understand the nature of the world that he is stuck in, so it wouldn't make sense for him to have access to this information. I also feel that it would undermine the game's visuals. I could picture a craftable late-tier science hat that, when equipped, reveals detailed statistical information about the world. Kind of a peek-through-the-matrix kind of thing :)