Having a terrible time with transformers, valves..and bonus electrolyzer question

I'm new to this game and doing fairly well (I think) I have figured out how to recycle water, gotten past the starvation risk, kind of gotten gas management right....

But for the life of me, I'm having issues with circuitry, figuring out how to effectively use the transformers in particular, and how to power my larger generators without asking my manual generator to power everything else.  I feel like I am just not getting the concept.  I'm not even sure I'm doing batteries right. I have them to absorb excess power of course, but I'm not sure if there's a better way to utilize them then just sticking them next to the generator and letting them charge.

Next question - valves.  I've had issues with pressures with gas and water and tried to install valves to manage that, and it always seems to make it worse. Is there a dummies guide to pressure dynamics in this game? *L*

Bonus question: I've been playing with putting electrolyzers in a sealed room to gather hydrogen, do you know the best ratio of electrolyzers to pumps?  Or is it more a function of the amount of space in the sealed rooms? 

Thanks fro the tips!

35 minutes ago, SusanMcO said:

But for the life of me, I'm having issues with circuitry, figuring out how to effectively use the transformers in particular, and how to power my larger generators without asking my manual generator to power everything else.  I feel like I am just not getting the concept.  I'm not even sure I'm doing batteries right. I have them to absorb excess power of course, but I'm not sure if there's a better way to utilize them then just sticking them next to the generator and letting them charge.

Basically you're supposed to put all generators on a heavy watt wire circuit and connect a transformer to it for every 1 kW of consumers, for example like in this image:
20170830184807_1.thumb.jpg.a7036bf252ba0377ce8151082cccd324.jpg