Bearger steals all my food all the time!

I'm far from an expert player but at the end of every autumn the bearger comes, steals my (often large) stash of food for the winter and kills me, either through slashing or slow starvation over winter. I'm fine with it killing me in a fight but stealing ALL my food store seems a bit rough to me, maybe it could be more considerate?

maybe it could be more considerate?

Seriously though, we're still in early alpha and all feedback is good feedback. I have yet to fight Bearger myself, but I can imagine losing all of your food is a pain- especially before winter.

Cut down a bunch of trees until you find a Treeguard or 2. Let them follow you back to your base... plant a few saplings and they'll turn passive but stick around. When you start hearing the noises that marks a Giant imminent spawn, prepare yourself with some log armor, a football helmet and a spear. Then stuff all your food in your pockets and go looking for him. When you find him, quickly attack him and have him follow you into the treeguard. Now, here's the tricky part. Run between the 2 until the Bearger makes contact with the Treeguard.

Kick back, eat some berries/carrots and wait to collect the spoils.

Just wait for the full moon buddy, go to the gloomer's statue, mine it, unlock the old bell recipe, take the flower, kill the glommer, kill the krampus that will spawn at that time, craft the old bell, take the pan flute, when the bearger is coming, go away from your camp and let it spawn, use the pan flute,  go next to the sleeping bearger, use it and go away, if the bearger wakes up, put it to sleep again until the bigfoot steps on it, repeat one more time, and there you go, no damage, no stolen food and 8 meat + the nice hibearnation vest, remember to visit the glommer's statue every full moon so you can craft the old bell again and again and again :) and no more giants problem