Like most everyone who uses this forum I've been enjoying ONI for quite some time, although not as long as those who participated in early access. Its such a fascinating game involving real problem solving skill and and understanding of in-game physics. Plus the graphics/animations are great which adds to its charm. The new DLC looks amazing and I'm stoked, but prior to the images and videos like many of you I've used mods to alter and change conditions to present new and different challenges. Having enjoyed Francis Johns videos I decided to try my hand at the mini base mod. Now 700+ cycles in it has been my most enjoyable playthrough, aside from FPS being great, the additional problems of limited space is fantastic. Makes me think the new DLC will be as well given the smaller worlds. 

Anyways... as a perpetual noob, I had big dreams when I began this colony to exploit mechanics and make a megabase only to realize mid/late game how I didn't plan as well as I thought; thus having my favorite playthrough so far.

Utilizing the polluted water vent I was able to reach early game sustainability easily, including a clay farm producing lots of O2 cleaned by deodorizers. Before building anything or taking on additional dupes (after the first to skill up in digging right away) I dug out resources and planned as best I could where permanent rooms/facilities would go. With limited space you inevitably have to tear down and move or re-engineer something to be smaller, but my goal was to avoid it as much as possible. All in all the planning seemed sound, mealwood was set up so I could scale dupes as new seeds became available and I continued working on expansion and infrastructure keeping a small power footprint.