Automation Logic Help Request Please

Right now I am manually toggling these very carefully.

The line colored in yellow is the water that is coming out of my water sieve, so it has germs in it.

But Ive noticed when you run it threw the refinery, practically all the germs are destroyed.

The other line is pure water from my lake.

I want to make sure my electos are not stopped as I have run out of algae now. But I dont want to use pure water when I dont have to.

I am not very good with the logic system yet, can someone take my setup here and show me how I would in the space avail of my base, include an automation setup so that the valves automatically toggle back and forth when the refinery is on / off.

Thanks a bunch in advance.

Water Toggle.JPG

Refineries don't send out a logic signal to work with

If you are relying on a water sieve you will run out of sand sooner or later

I suggest you tap into a steam geyser for your electos

Or make a morb/puft farm for slime you can refine into algae

2 minutes ago, Neotuck said:

Refineries don't send out a logic signal to work with

I suggest you tap into a steam geyser for your electos

Or make a morb/puft farm for slime you can refine into algae

ya, i havent played with that type of content yet, and havent found a steam gyser, I have a natural gas one very near my starting point, and a few oil ones about 150 -200 or so tiles below me, so im swimming in dirty water.

1 minute ago, MythN7 said:

ya, i havent played with that type of content yet, and havent found a steam gyser, I have a natural gas one very near my starting point, and a few oil ones about 100 or so tiles below me, so im swimming in dirty water.

you could make a boiler

Just now, Neotuck said:

you could make a boiler

ive tried following things i see online, but most of the videos that show that kinda content are in the cheat mode where they just spawn stuff in, so its hard to follow.