How to find gears?

So, I have recently been addicted to Don't Starve. I've also been starting to like WX-78 a lot. The main problem though is gears. On one of my average worlds I need about 4-6 gears, (2 iceboxes, a flingomatic and some gears for WX-78). Sometimes though this can be very hard and frustrating to find enough gears. I've dug graves, looked for ruins, picked tumbleweeds, searched for clockworks. etc. These techniques take lots of time, and aren't even guaranteed to work. I understand that finding gears are mostly all based on luck, but is there any other way to easily get some?

-Chaq

2 hours ago, CarlZalph said:

As you've stated ruins rushing is a great method on getting a lot of gears.

I'm no expert on it, but I was able to fully ruins myself by day 10.

Ruins is a great method as I've read, but its hard to find them. Ive only found the ruins once on DST, and of course this was in my early days when I didn't even know how valuable they are. I could probably find ruins if I spent 5-10 days searching, but that takes lots of time that you could spend preparing for winter or making a base.

You don't need to go far. As soon as you see the first splumonkey or Relic you know you're near.

If you be lucky enough to find the military, you may even loot 15+ gears in there, not counting the gems and thulecite

But better bring followers or other players, it's a suicide mission to go alone

1 hour ago, spiderdian said:

You don't need to go far. As soon as you see the first splumonkey or Relic you know you're near.

If you be lucky enough to find the military, you may even loot 15+ gears in there, not counting the gems and thulecite

But better bring followers or other players, it's a suicide mission to go alone