Blewcheese's DST experiences

Alright, first off, I'd like to express my thanks for having gotten a key. Thanks!

I played DST for a while yesterday, but since this is my first time being in a beta, you'll have to bear with me if I have trouble testing thoroughly. Here's what I've seen so far.

- I've gotten some serious lag around mobs. I found that I couldn't move around frogs and spiders, but they could attack me, so I died. There were only two people on the server, including myself.

- It'd be nice to have clues about other people's stats. I'm not looking for a bar that shows it, of course. We already have the idle animations for hunger and sanity, but maybe quotes for examination like "[insert character name here] Is looking a little banged up." And such.

-I'm not sure I quite understand the haunt mechanic. From what I can tell, it just makes the item glowey. If I haunt a beefalo, it enrages it, and if I haunt a grave, I get a ghost of another character (which I assumed was random). I heard that there was supposed to be a bar that depleted if you didn't haunt things, but I've seen none of that yet.

I'll update this thread with more of my observations as I play more.

-Yes, rubberbanding is a serious issue for client players right now because kiting doesn't work and you can't get away in time if you are lagging around.

-I think seeing other people's stats is only gonna be used if you are trying to fight someone. If you are playing with a friend they would politely ask you if you have any healing items. Also the hungry and insane looking around animations are a great way to see how a player is doing. I don't think that needs to be added.