How to make clothes useful

Hi, I've hundreds of hours in DST. I came from competitive games, so when my gf let me play DST, I searched for guides and tried to get better and better in the game quickly.

As someone who tends to like optimizing things, I noticed more and more that something I've thought quite a lot about when I was a newbie, which is body clothing, is actually pretty useless and outshined by either a backpack or a head equipment. Furthermore, it just doesn't make sense. Why couldn't a character wear a puffy vest or a summer frest together with a backpack?

For this, I propose two solutions:

1. Make an extra "clothing"/amulet slot that is separate from head and backpack/armor, so we would have 3 slots in total: Head, body clothing, and armor/backpack. This would keep wearing armor and backpack at the same time forbidden (which some people think to be OP/unfair) while making body clothing viable.
  2. Give an extra body slot, but with a catch: Clothing, backpacks, and amulets would take 1 slot while body armors would take 2. This would keep the current version's balance as in contrast to #1 as it wouldn't allow armor and clothing to be worn at the same time (e.g. log suit + puffy vest wouldn't be allowed).

With either of these implemented, we'd finally see more people wear seasonal clothing as well as make belt of hunger and hibearnation vest viable for their cost. As of now, every experienced player just prefers using thermal stones and a backpack over wearing any insulated clothes.

Edit: Here's another solution proposed by Mike23Ua:

I really like the idea of making while wearing body armor it “locks” the backpack slots from being used- but you don’t actually have to drop your pack on the ground and worry about other players hijacking right out from under you.