Why is this room not registering as a mess hall?

Hi, i'm new to the game and i'm trying to set up a mess hall, according to the room overlay it isn't one despite not having any industrial equipment, being the right size of tiles and having plenty of mess tables. And i'm just wondering what i'm doing wrongHMM..thumb.PNG.b035c656376a8dd1ac0f5686d6b5dbb0.PNG

(also, while i'm at it, how do i get rid of the bottles of polluted water?) Thanks!

4 hours ago, Robotick said:

Hi, i'm new to the game and i'm trying to set up a mess hall, according to the room overlay it isn't one despite not having any industrial equipment, being the right size of tiles and having plenty of mess tables. And i'm just wondering what i'm doing wrongHMM..thumb.PNG.b035c656376a8dd1ac0f5686d6b5dbb0.PNG

(also, while i'm at it, how do i get rid of the bottles of polluted water?) Thanks!

Your room is 184 tiles. That's far too big.

I know it wasn't a question but I don not recommend using those yellow box for food. Especially in such a large quantity. They are not refrigerating food so they do not prevent spoiling. Additionally, I see a lot of polluted oxygen here which would speed up spoiling. It is better idea to use one refrigerator merged in chlorine. It doesn't event need to be powered!

On 1/10/2021 at 3:23 AM, Robotick said:

Bottle emptier: https://oxygennotincluded.gamepedia.com/Bottle_Emptier

But it doesn't really make much sense to put algae terrarriums into the mess hall in the first place. Oxygen diffusers consume more algae, but they are far easier to handle. They don't consume water and they don't produce huge amounts of polluted water, which then gasses off into polluted oxygen. And one of them handles a whole 5 duplicants.

Terrariums are better placed at the bottom of the base because they also consume a little bit of CO2. And you can place deoxidizers above them to deal with the polluted oxygen.