Natural Gas generator

Hi I am new to this game and I think I am doing something wrong.

I generate natural gas with an automatic system and like to make some electricity.

But the generation of the natural gas costs me more energy then it is producing.

In this setup I have 20 fertilizers and they cost me a little more then 5kWh, But they only send enough gas for a continuous running of 2 generators and from time till time 4 generators. 4 generators produce 4800 kWh. And then I do not count the liquid pomp then runs sometimes to clear out the Polluted water.

So I am doing something wrong, but cannot think what.

oni-gas-2.jpg

oni-gas.jpg

Using fertilizer synthesizer for natgas is so 2018. I still remember the good old days when I started and everyone were running them for power.

They are pointless for natgas now. They used to only consume polluted water and give out 20g/s natgas. Now, they also require dirt and phosphorite, and you only get 10g/s.

See the patch notes that nerfed it: 

@Coolen As said by others it'll never be power positive that way, that's not fertilizer synth purposes. If your goal is to produce electrity from NG, you'll have to look for other way to get NG.

image.thumb.png.1602ab4aee730abd22b5d27636b7fefa.png

Most efficient way is the first above : transition from methane. You'll need to setup an oil-to-NG boiler. There's plenty of them on this forum, depending on what you have most (map space, ressources, etc...) and your playstyle.

Note that upon liquefaction of sour gas, one third of the mass will be converted into useless (in the base game) sulfur.

One single natgas geyser can run at least 2 generators, and one is guaranteed to generate (AFAIK with my rusty knowledge)