How geyser works and how can I cool the water down?

Dear all, 

I'm a total newbie in this game, even though steam told me I had 70+ hours into it (yuck. I'm a slow learner, haha..). Nevertheless, I was tinkering with the water from the steam geyser all the last couple of days. I know I can get water from it but not exactly sure the process. Sometimes I would dry out the pocket of water inside the geyser. Does pressure have something to do with it? If I cool the temperature inside the geyser (using thermal regulators), would it make it produce more water?

On the aspect of cooling down the water from the geyser, I tried putting 3 wheelzeworts inside the steam chamber (all enclosed by insulated tiles). It doesn't seem to do anything useful. Heck, I feel like my game is broken since I tried to put wheezelwort anywhere, it doesn't seem to change the temperature at all. Has wheezlewort been patched to become completely useless? Is the only way to cool gasses now is by using thermal regulators? What other ways are you using to cool the water? Do you run water through a room full of cold gas? Or do you run cold gas inside insulated pipes around the geyser room? Do you use normal water/gas pipe or insulated pipe? Do you need some extra thermal regulators to cool the gas from pipe, since even though with insulated pipe, the gas inside gradually rise in temperature, which make the process useless.