Seriously need help with Detention Centers.

I just started playing normal endless and Detention Centers are near impossible for me. The moment I take out the warden everyone comes to my location. An example of what happens to me is this one game where I found it quickly enough, only the warden inside. No one knocked out or patrollin although one door was unexplored. The moment I knock out the Warden though two guys just come out of the door I had not looked through which happened to be across from the prison door and I have no place to hide. Stuff like this happens all the time. I knock out whoever is guarding the prisoner, 1 or 2 people depending on the center and IMMEDIATELY other people just run into the room I am in and either catch me with no cover or I have cover but I have no way of taking it out with my melee on cooldown. What the heck am I supposed to do? I beat them occasionally but it is more due to luck than skill. In my above example if I had looked in that hall and take those guys out, regardless by the time my melee went off of cooldown they would have been up, or I would have had to keep them pinned until it came off cooldown go down to the prison then melee those guys and hope I could get the operative out before everyone woke up.

It sounds like your having trouble with the game in general not just prisoner rescue missions. I don't think there are any game mechanics that tell the guards to zero in on your positions once the prisoner has been rescued. Not in my limited experience anyways. 

Almost all guards have a patrol route of point A to B and B to A. This means when you watch a room for 1 turn you will either see the guard in the room or see him enter the next turn. If I enter I room I haven't watched I make sure I'm in decent cover in case some guard comes strolling in. If I enter an unwatched room with no cover then my agent better have a pistol or dart gun.