Game Start, Spring to Summer tips?

Hi all,

Again, I haven't been playing RoG that long, so I'm still learning about Summer. One of the problems I have is when the game starts in Spring. I'm too busy mitigating the rains/trying to find insulation/getting basic resources from the beginning of the game, and summer is a problem for me. (At least the game "cheated" me on meat from pigs early on so Umbrella pigskins are not a problem. Spider nests are though, only two locally, and only 1 hit t3. Hoping for far off ones to hit T3 for moving the eggs soon.)

Not only is ice limited (compared to mining it from winter in abundance,) but I have less time than if in Autumn to get the summer resources. (And will be super paranoid about leaving an ice cube out of the cold box more than two days. Also, I have been playing Wigfrid lately, so I only have one box anyway due to limited gold and Wigfrid's special items *sigh*  I don't have as many farms to get Watermelon if that's a common backup by anybody.)

Any tips for preparing for summer when in Spring is greatly appreciated. Besides a floral shirt, which is a trade off for using a backpack as Puffy vest is to winter of course. That I get the importance. That and an umbrella. I have some teeth so I can make one sewing kit very soon, others must be used for tooth traps and no desert nearby (noticing a trend here, like not finding key things this first season) for hound mounds. 

Finally, with the minimum 10 gold needed just to build an Alchemy engine with all its components, and the world not giving me any big quarries (just two little ones and one medium one with one Tallbird) any suggestions how I can get extra gold in the early spring game without having to go to the caves early when the Pig King is not showing up this first year?