Sanity loss FAR too strong! (Possible bug?)

Let me open this by saying that I don't find Don't Starve hard. The massive increase in 

difficulty was welcome, but after playing for a while I'm pretty sure I've either found a very 

strange bug, or there's a pretty big balance issue.

Let me take'ya through my first game.

I started playing as Wilson with default settings, no mods enabled. Days one through three were 

pretty average. Apart from new Dr. Seuss trees there wasn't anything spectacular.

Day four I picked a spot to set up a base camp. There were some flowers nearby and a beehive. 

Now and then I picked flowers to help keep my sanity up.

Day seven, I noticed that I simply wasn't running out of flowers. More kept seeming to appear. 

I thought maybe bees are now able to pollinate flowers while still belonging to a hive. At 

first this sounded great..

...Until an evil flower appeared from nowhere. I left it where it was so I'd have more when I 

started down the Magic track. Later this turned out to be a terrible idea.

For the next few days I expanded base. Got a few drying racks, managed to find a gear in a 

tumbleweed and built an ice box, and "deconstructed" the local beehive so I could build my own.

Winter, day 23. I noticed sanity dropping like mad. It just wouldn't stop. I figured this was 

some new game mechanic and ignored it for a bit. After a while, while I'm out foraging, I 

notice it's stopped dropping as fast. It's still going, but nowhere near as bad as it was. 

However, when I returned to base, it went right back up again. Or down. Updown. Whichever!

Day 25. The snow stopped and although nothing melted, the ground finally stopped squishing and 

sounding all wet. After a few minutes I noticed some flowers peeking through the snow. Evil 

flowers. After a few minutes there were more, and more, and more. You get the picture. I 

realized that bees can't be spreading them since they don't come out of their hives during the