What should I take with me into the Ancient Archives?

Greetings and a very spooky Hallowed Nights to you all!

I am currently going crazy with the Hallowed Nights content as it is my first time, I'm making spooky forests and creating Carrats and Saladmanders all over the mainland while also stocking up on a silly amount of Candy and Healing/Sanity Potions.

I'm planning on going into the Caves for Summer (and likely most of Autumn) to explore the new biomes and to get the three recipes from the Fountains of Knowledge or whatever they're called. Ideally I'd love to stay in the Caves for the entirety of this adventure as I'd like all my crops, plants etc etc to stay crisp and I want to avoid the summer heat completely without having to use flingos. I'm all good for food, sanity, weapons etc (Wigfrid so basic resources and gold are more or less all I need for Combat! - unless I should be taking stronger gear for certain mobs?) and its a long term world (day 3000+). What I'd really like to know is if there are any specific resources I am going to need down in the Archives to progress/unlock things/do everything you currently can down there - do I randomly need Bone Shards, Silk, Nitre, specific gems or anything else random? I know to take the Iridescent Gem with me but honestly that is about it! Any advice, knowledge or tips (with less spoilers if possible just required resources I should take etc) from those who have already explored the new biomes would be highly appreciated! I'm on ps4 just for the record and reference! Thanks in advance!

Many Thanks! I'll make sure to take some bug nets, bundling wraps and a few glass cutters. Forgot all about wraps for the new foods!

The Flying Light Bug things, can they be brought up to the surface? Also do they Starve or perish if you catch them then release them? Would be pretty awesome to have some throughout your base to accompany the fire flies.

31 minutes ago, GelatinousCube said: