No planets / asteroids within 10000km

Hi there! It's my first time advancing a colony successfully past say 200 cycles and i'm very happy that i finally made it to the 'space age' of ONI! Until i opened up the calculator to see how much steam i needed to go to a planet 20000km away so i didn't waste any - and even with the lowest 'payload', i'm unable to reach space. After looking through the forums - it seems that the only solution is to debug in a more advanced engine. I really don't want to 'cheat' persay, so is there any way around this? Am i just missing something? Any help is amazing :)

20200823113907_1.jpg

20200823113937_1.jpg

I believe you're misreading the interface. The two blue asteroids in your first screenshot are Carbon Asteroids and are, in fact, only 10,000 KM away.

You should be reading things bottom-to-top -- put more succinctly, the "distance" is whatever the number *below* the planets are, not above them.

OniSpaceMap.thumb.png.fab7ff39945915dc8b93206ad28efed7.png

8 hours ago, Tsabo said:

Is it not the case that you can't reach the planetoids because your rocket has 5 times as many modules (and therefore weight) than it should?

Try building a rocket with only ONE research module.

Ignore that.

While it's a bug that's been reported solved many time, in some rare cases people still complain of rounding errors and getting too few databanks.

It's always a good idea to sent 6 research modules on your first rocket(s). Even better, if you're using only one steam rocket, send 7. Later you can deconstruct the engine, module 2 and 4, and build in place, w/o waiting, a petrol engine, a solid oxydizer tank, a liquid fuel tank, and you have your 5-modules research rocket with petroleum engine ready to go, w/o deconstructing the capsule or changing the height of the silo.

8 hours ago, Tsabo said:

Is it not the case that you can't reach the planetoids because your rocket has 5 times as many modules (and therefore weight) than it should?