A question about ROG?

Hi guys.

I am new to DS and I have recently bought the DLC. Even though I am still a newbie, I can manage to survive for as long as I want in the original dont starve. I am on day 200 or so and I have plenty dragon fruit farms, bee boxes, berries, etc. I do not need to worry about the hounds because I go to my panic room with tooth traps and they die before they can attack me. The only REAL threat is deerclops, but even so I can easily kill it with the help of a beefalo group.

So its basically too easy.

But when I play the DLC. (I usually play with Wilson) It is so much harder. The Spring rain is awful, giants in every season are also a pain in the a..., but my main problem is: While in the first version food does not spoil in jerkies, cook pots and alive rabbits dont spoil, in ROG it does. My maximum was 74 or something but I died after dragonfly burned out all my base down and managed to attack me even while I was running.

So one of my questions is:

How can I play to improve as a player in a world which is not too easy like standard version, but not as hard as ROG?

The second one is: I see a lot of youtube videos showing players with like 1000 days in ROG, and I just wanted to know how they deal with giants, for example, what they do so the dragonfly doesnt burn their base or how deerclops doesnt destroy it.

Thaanks

oh boy i know that feel, im not sure  we'll be abe to help you , the most we can do is throw long worthless explanations and "ALL U NID 2 DO EEZ"

you're gonna have to learn how to prepare for everything by yourself (at least i had to) as the list of new things that can kill you if you're not prepared  has grown exponentially

my tip: always make ice machines, and try to focus on preparing for summer even before winter as winter is already conquered land

and make umbrellas

have fun with no longer being able to kill the deerclops and most new bosses with beefalo!