W.A.R.B.I.S. Armour - Too Long To Get With Current Blueprints Drops

Beta thoughts and introduction:

I would like to start by saying that I am enjoying this beta a lot! It is truly spectacular work, good job Klei!

Nevertheless, there are some things that need tweaking; that is what betas are for essentially.

I've seen people complain that waiting one in-game year to get one of the three new boss items is too slow (I second that, btw); but I haven't seen people talking about the W.A.R.B.I.S. armour that much, so I thought to throw my hat into the ring. :wilson_cool:

About me: Aside from DST, I love mathematics! In fact, I am currently in my 2nd year pursuing a degree in statistics. And I see a problem with the way you obtain the new W.A.R.B.I.S. armour.

How do you obtain the W.A.R.B.I.S. armour?

• Once the rifts on the surface are active, Wagstaff can spawn around the player from time to time running in a direction.

• Following Wagstaff can lead you to a setpiece with 3 structures.

• Breaking each structure can give you 1-2 scrap metal (needed for the armour) and a 20% chance to get a blueprint to learn the new armour.

You need 3 blueprints to get the entire armour set: The body, the head, and the repair kit.

And this is a problem, a 20% chance for getting a blueprint is too low, which results in having to repeat this mini-game too many times. How many? Well, for that, we need the power of Probability!!!

Mini-lesson on statistics and probability:

In math, there are some probabilities we can calculate theoretically using certain distributions. Like throwing a "fair" coin, you can get either heads or tails each with a 50% chance; and counting how many heads you get if you throw the coin N number of times (e.g.. 100) is called a Binomial distribution. For these theoretical distributions, we have formulas, you just need to know certain parameters like the probability of getting heads or the number of throws.