Some Deep Thoughts: Chemical Industry-based Refinement Processes and Chemical Hazards

As a chemist, I am extremely fascinated by how many diverse pathways to convert materials in this game, which’s the main reason I enjoy ONI so much. As I played, I sensed there could be some more efficient and sustainable ways to produce materials in this game based on my knowledge.

New Element: Catalyst

Please add a new artificial solid “Catalyst”, this is what most of my conceptual buildings will be using. It can be manufactured from a molecular forge using 1 unit each of gold, iron, and refined carbon. Melt temp is 2000°C. Catalyst is the crucial material for many chemical refinement processes I’ll introduce below, including water-splitting, gas-phase sedimentation of carbon dioxide to refined carbon and clean oxygen, and greener industrial fertilizer synthesis. Dupes with Tune-up (or chemical engineering, the parallel of electrical engineering) skills can supply catalyst to electrolyzer, carbon splitter (more advanced than carbon skimmer), and fertilizer synthesizer, in a way similar to an engie’s tune-up for power plants using microchips. The room enabling refinement facilities’ tune-up is called “chemical factory”.

Electrolyzer Tuning-up

Catalyst can increase water-splitting conversion rate of electrolyzer, generating O2 and H2 three times faster than default rate, aka, triple material produced per second at the same old rate of power consumption and heat generation. Electrolyzers require manual insertion of catalysts and constant tune-up by a dupe each cycle to achieve such effect.  

CO2 Splitter