Moving from vanilla DS to RoG; any tips?

Hello! I stopped to play DS after All's Well That's Maxwell update (mostly because I was a newbie and couldn't survive winter); I've started to play it again a week ago, and discovered that it's actually  pretty easy to survive +100 days, if you know what to do. So I decided to get RoG and Shipwrecked, and got it on my Steam Library today. Are there any advice that could be useful before starting a RoG world? I'll start as Wickerbotton, since I got interested in her description. Thanks in advance!

When creating a new rog game make autumn your starting season. 

Have at least 1 lightning rod in your base b4 spring. Also umbrella or rain hat. Or even better- eyembrella

Get enoght gears to make Ice flingomatic. I recommand making summer base in the desert but that's if you can gather enoght stuff to make a good summer base.

Prepare for giants to arrive. Winter, Summer- at the end. Spring, Autumn- at the beggining.

In vanilla, you could pretty much focus on surviving the current season, while minimally preparing for the next. For example, in Winter you're basically spending all winter long building up your base to survive that current Winter (and possible Deerclops), and you know that Summer (RoG Autumn) is coming and you can relax then. In RoG, you've gotta shift your focus to being more proactive. It's more like "minimally survive the current season, while actively preparing for the next, and possibly the one after that". Autumn and Winter you already know about, but Spring and Summer bring new challenges.