Questions on interaction between two mods

(Note I'm a programmer but I had never used Lua before. When I'm typing out my questions, it feels like it can be done so easily but I really don't know how to do so in Lua. Sorry in advance if what I asked was kinda stupid. Point me to a topic or a mod that had did this if you know any.)

Question 1: Two character mods with special character items.

Let's use the Crash Bandicoot and Neo Cortex mods as examples. In Crash's mod, there's Aku Aku, crates and wumpa fruits, while in Cortex's mod there's Uka Uka, blaster gun and blaster ammo.

I'd use Wumpa fruits as example, but I decided to use these two lines instead

[codesyntax]STRINGS.CHARACTERS.CORTEX.DESCRIBE.UKAUKA = "The mighty Uka Uka."
STRINGS.CHARACTERS.GENERIC.DESCRIBE.UKAUKA = "It gives off a evil aura."[/codesyntax]

So, here we have Cortex and everyone else's description on Uka Uka. What if I wanted Crash to say something different about Uka Uka? Can I just do this? for example:

[codesyntax]STRINGS.CHARACTERS.CRASHBANDI.DESCRIBE.UKAUKA = "It's the opposite of Aku Aku."[/codesyntax]

Do I have to write some extra codes to do some checkings?

I know putting both characters into one mod file is possible, but what if I don't wanna? :razz:

Question 2: A character mod and someone else's item mod

Let's say I made a character named Chloe. Chloe is a hunter, but I didn't create her bow and arrows, because there is an Archery mod and I wanna utilize that.

Is it possible to check if the player had Archery mod enabled?

Like, if the archery mod is enabled, Chloe starts with a bow, quiver and some arrows. If the archery mod is not enabled, Chloe starts with a spear and a trap instead.